Johnson Matthey Plc directorate changes

We announce the appointment of John O'Higgins, as a non-executive director of the company, commencing on 16th November 2017.

John is currently Chief Executive of Spectris plc, a leading supplier of productivity-enhancing instrumentation and controls. He joined the board of Spectris plc as Chief Executive in January 2006. Prior to this John worked for Honeywell in a number of management roles, including as president of automation and control solutions, Asia Pacific. He began his career as a design engineer at Daimler-Benz in Stuttgart.

John will be replacing Colin Matthews CBE FREng, a non-executive director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Colin is standing down from his role with effect from 15th November 2017 after five years on the board, having been appointed a non-executive director in October 2012 and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee in July 2016.

Chris Mottershead, a non-executive director, will be appointed as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee from 16th November 2017.

Tim Stevenson OBE, Chairman, commented:

"On behalf of all of us on the board I would like to thank Colin for his significant contributions during his time as a non-executive director. 

I am very pleased to welcome John to the board and we look forward to working with him and benefiting from his extensive business and industrial experience".

Disclosures required pursuant to Rule 9.6.13 of the Listing Rules of the Financial Conduct Authority (including directorships held in other publicly quoted companies at any time in the previous five years).

John was appointed as a director of Spectris plc in January 2006, a company listed on the London Stock Exchange.

From September 2010 to April 2015, John was a non-executive director of Exide Technologies, Inc, a company listed on the Nasdaq stock exchange.

Other than as stated in this announcement, there are no other disclosures required pursuant to Rule 9.6.13 of the Listing Rules of the Financial Conduct Authority.


Sally Jones: Director of Corporate Communications 
020 7269 8407

Andrew Grant: Tulchan Communications
020 7353 4200

David Allchurch: Tulchan Communications
020 7353 4200